Fellowship for Advancing Science Journalism in Africa and the Middle East

This new one-semester fellowship, hosted by the Knight Science Journalism Programme at MIT, was inspired by the life and career of Egyptian science journalist Mohammed Yahia. The fellowship is designed to enrich the training of a journalist from Africa or the Middle East so they can contribute to a culture of high-quality science and health journalism in those regions, as well as raising awareness of regional advances in the rest of the world. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | March 1

2024 Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards

Covering Climate Now invites journalists everywhere to submit work for the 2024 Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards, presented with the Columbia Journalism Review. The awards recognise the best in global climate storytelling. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | March 1

National Endowment for Democracy grants

Each year, the National Endowment for Democracy (NED) makes more than 2,000 grants to support the projects of nongovernmental groups abroad who are working to advance democratic goals and strengthen democratic institutions in more than 100 countries. NED encourages applications from organisations working in diverse environments including newly established democracies, semi-authoritarian countries, highly repressive societies and countries undergoing democratic transitions. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | March 11

BBC Komla Dumor Award 2024

The BBC is seeking a rising star of African journalism for the BBC News Komla Dumor Award, now in its ninth year. Journalists from across Africa are invited to apply for the award, which aims to uncover and promote fresh talent from the continent. The winner will spend three months at the BBC headquarters in London, gaining skills and experience. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | March 15

MDIF launches Amplify South Africa programme

The Media Development Investment Fund has launched Amplify South Africa, a mentoring, capacity strengthening and grant funding programme to help independent media businesses build their revenues, audiences and innovation. The programme offers independent media organisations based in South Africa the chance to be part of a transformative initiative that could reshape the future of their businesses. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | March 16

Request for Proposals: Freshwater Conservation

The National Geographic Society is seeking proposals for a funding opportunity, focused on Freshwater Conservation. This opportunity is best suited for individual project leaders with demonstrable experience co-creating or collaborating with the community or communities that are most impacted by the freshwater scarcity issue and proposed conservation project. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | March 25

The McGraw Fellowship for Business Journalism

Are you a journalist with a great idea for a high-impact story that “Follows the Money” but few resources to get it done? The McGraw Fellowship for Business Journalism would like to hear from you. The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Center for Business Journalism provides experienced journalists with grants up to $15,000 and the editorial support needed to produce deeply reported enterprise and investigative stories that delve into critical economic, financial or business issues across a wide array of subjects. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | March 31

2024 Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is now accepting applications from career print, television, radio or internet journalists from mainly developing nations of Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Oceania to cover deliberations of the 79th United Nations General Assembly for approximately 10 weeks. Applicants should have a compelling interest in international affairs and the work of the United Nations and its member agencies. Both full-time and freelance journalists are invited to apply. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | April 5

Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024

The African Centre for Media Excellence is pleased to announce that submissions are now open for the 2024 annual Uganda National Journalism Awards. This landmark event marks a decade of recognising and celebrating outstanding journalistic contributions within the Ugandan media landscape. Journalists and media organisations and platforms across the nation are invited to submit their entries and participate in this historic 10th anniversary edition of the awards. For details and more click here.

Deadline | April 30

The Pulitzer Center Data Journalism Grants

The Pulitzer Center, a non-profit organisation that supports independent global journalism, is seeking applications for innovative data-driven journalism projects that spotlight underreported issues. This opportunity is open to all newsrooms and independent journalists in the United States and abroad. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | Rolling



Everything you need to know regarding journalism and media innovation in Africa – fortnightly in your inbox.