Global Fact Check Fund

The Global Fact Check Fund will award grants in an open competition for one or a series of programmes to support third-party organisations in strengthening the capabilities of fact-checking organisations across the world. The fund will support verified signatories of the IFCN Code of Principles fact-checking organisations, as well as non-signatory, partnering organisations, over a three-year period. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 8

Derek Ingram Fellowship

Wolfson College, Cambridge, in conjunction with the Commonwealth Journalists Association, has invited applications for a Derek Ingram Press Fellow to join the Wolfson Press Fellowship Programme. This is a residential programme held at Wolfson College for three months during the Easter term of 2024. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 10

World Press Photo Contest

The annual World Press Photo Contest recognises and celebrates the best photojournalism and documentary photography produced over the last year, selected by an international independent jury. Entering is free and prizes include up to €6,000, inclusion in our annual traveling exhibition, and more. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 11

Khetha 2024 Story Grant Application

The Khetha 2024 Story Grants aims to assist South African and international journalists in reporting on wildlife crimes and conservation challenges in the Greater Kruger area through access to local, on-the-ground knowledge. Journalists who apply for a Khetha 2024 Story Grant must have at least five years’ reporting experience. Your application must also be endorsed by a local or international media outlet. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 15

Women In News (WIN) Leadership Accelerator Programme

WIN is an intensive, nine-month-long career and leadership programme for women media professionals. Mid- to senior-level editors and journalists from Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia & Zimbabwe are invited to apply. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 15

Knight Science Journalism Fellowship Programme

The Knight Science Journalism Programme at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) offers academic-year fellowships to 10 science journalists, to allow them to explore science, technology, and the craft of journalism; to concentrate on a specialty in science and to learn at some of the top research universities in the world. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 15

Global Journalist Fellowship 

The Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute at New York University (NYU) is seeking applications for the Global Journalist Fellowship. The fellowship provides international journalists with two semesters of funding to study at one of the master’s programs at the Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, as well as a US$16,000 stipend. Fellows can choose one of nine concentrations: business and economic reporting; cultural reporting and criticism; global and joint program studies; literary reportage; magazine and digital storytelling; news and documentary; reporting the nation and New York; science, health and environmental reporting; and Studio 20. Candidates must also complete the application for the graduate program of their choice. The TOEFL is required and is waived only if English was an applicant’s language of instruction in his or her degree program. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 15

2024 Sigma Awards

Striding into its fifth year, entries are now open for the Sigma Awards, which celebrate the best data journalism from around the world. For details and to apply click here.

Deadline | January 17

2024 JournalismAI Fellowship Programme

The JournalismAI Fellowship is a global, collaborative programme that brings together journalists and technologists from around the world to use artificial intelligence technologies to enhance journalism and its processes. This year it will focus primarily on projects that envision using GenAI. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 26

COMESA Media Awards 2023

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) announces the call for entries for the 2023 COMESA Media Awards. The award scheme is conducted every year to recognise and reward journalists who have contributed to regional integration by publishing and producing broadcast stories on the subject. The objective of the awards is to promote reporting of COMESA regional integration projects hence raising public awareness, understanding participation and ownership. Relevant topics for entry include development projects involving more than one COMESA member state or a national project which have a regional dimension. Such projects cover trade, infrastructure (energy, transport, ICT), investments, gender, etc. If the article/programme is not about a COMESA programme, at least it should demonstrate the author/producer’s understanding of COMESA’s programmes. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 31

TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting: Uncovering Commercial Bribery

The TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting recognises journalism that uncovers business-related bribery and financial crime with the goal of increasing commercial transparency and good governance. Nominees may be print, broadcast or online reporters from any country who have investigated commercial bribery schemes, business activities that create serious conflicts of interest or similar commercial misconduct. Team entries and multiple submissions per author are permitted. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 31

The Knight-Bagehot Fellowship

The fellowship is open to full-time editorial employees of newspapers, magazines, wire services, digital media, television and radio news organisations, as well as to freelance journalists, from anywhere in the world. Applicants must have at least four years of business/economics/finance journalism experience and have received a bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) from an accredited university. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | January 31

One World Media Awards

The One World Media Awards recognise the best media coverage of the global south. Stories that break through stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people across cultures. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | February 8

2024 ICFJ Knight Awards

Each year, the International Center for Journalists honors outstanding colleagues with the ICFJ Knight International Journalism Award at the Tribute to Journalists. They are now seeking nominees whose pioneering coverage or media innovations have made an impact on the lives of people in their countries or regions. Candidates can be reporters, editors, technologists, media managers or citizen journalists from countries where they face major challenges doing their work. For details and to apply, click here.

Deadline | February 8

Want to stay up to date with the latest journalism and media innovation news from the African continent? Subscribe to our newsletter.




Everything you need to know regarding journalism and media innovation in Africa – fortnightly in your inbox.